Why Wait for PD on a Platter?

medium_5845493652 (1)

Preparing for Dinner photo credit: RSL IMAGES via photopin cc

After attending Edcamp Winnipeg and Denapalooza the last two Saturdays this past weekend felt rather… empty. No conferences. No Ed gatherings. It all felt rather empty to me. I know I wasn’t the only one who felt this way and was left craving more. I heard the rumblings as soon as Denapalooza ended. “When is the next meet up?” “What are we going to next?”.

This weekend was the tipping point. Instead of waiting for PD to presented to us a platter we  have decided we would go ahead and help ourselves learn.

My good friend Taryn Deroche is organizing some PBL/Inquiry learning sessions for July/August. It all started innocently enough with a Tweet on Friday night asking who was interested in learning more about PBL/Inquiry. It quickly morphed and she had few people wanting to learn more. The planning wheels are turning and meetings are being planned.

I am starting a summer book club. I am not sure how many people will join or what we will be reading. All I know is that we will be learning and sharing a love reading and learning together! Location won’t be too much of a hinderance as we plan on meeting using Google Hangouts.

Why wait for Pd to come to us? Although there may be a few of us, I am sure the learning will be incredible and stick with us for a long time to come. If you are interested in joining us just let me or Taryn know and we’ll sign up! It should be a summer of great learning and sharing!

Leave a Reply

