To learn together do we have to sit together?

Earlier this week I read a blog post by Aviva Dunsiger entitled: “Why I have such strong reaction to rows”.  As is usually the case with my PLN when something is on my mind someone else is thinking about the same thing and writing about it. Some people say they don’t like students sitting in groups because it causes increased noise levels and behaviour problems. Although this is true in some instances. Should learning really be quiet and reserved all the time? Although I am not the biggest fan of row seating I don’t think it is that bad but rather keeping your seating plan static for long stretches of time is.

Over the course of the year I have tinkered with our seating plan. We tend to change seating arrangements once every 4 – 6 weeks to keep things fresh. Sometimes I have the students vote on seating options and at other times I just pick an option. We have sat in pairs, in groups of 3, 4 and  5 and in rows.  The same goes for choosing where students sit. Sometimes I pick, sometimes they pick. Variety is the spice of our seating arrangement in grade 4. And yes, by request from the students we have sat in rows for a bit this year. They loved it for a bit but then as usual got bored and asked to change the arrangement again.

Students will occasionally request that they sit alone and I let them do so with the understanding that next time they will need to sit in a group with their peers. They happily agree and we find a spot that is just right for them to sit.

IMG_0246

For the most part in our grade 4 classroom we sit in groups and I prefer it.

Some of the reasons I like having my students sit in groups are:

Sitting in groups makes group work easier. No need to move desks when students need a space to work because there area already spaces ready for them to work in.IMG_0034

Learning is very social in elementary school. Young students love learning together!

Sitting in groups teaches them self-control. When great friends sit together they chat. It’s natural. Seating them in a group forces them to learn that there are times  when it is okay to be talking and sharing with each other and others when you need to be listening.

DSC00873

Peers model appropriate behaviour. Sometimes all students need is to see their desk mate pulling out their work to do the same. No need for a teacher prompt.

For whatever reason when students sit in rows I feel like I need to lecture more. I don’t like lecturing to my grade 4’s  for long periods of time as I find they tune out and get bored.

Sitting in groups also allows students who may otherwise not interact with each other to see each other in a new light and learn to work with new people.

I also tend to be flexible with where students work once they are given an assignment. We are lucky enough to have a large table at the back of our room that can seat 6 people. Students will often move there when they are given work and collaborate together on projects. At times I sit there so I can help students who need extra help. Other students prefer to do their work on the floor using clipboards which is also okay with me as long as the work gets done. Others simply stay at their desks.

What are your thoughts on seating in elementary classroom?

One thought on “To learn together do we have to sit together?

  1. I really enjoyed your blog post! It’s always interesting to hear about the thinking behind seating arrangements. I love the fact that you’ve tried so many different options.

    The sentence in your post that really had me pause was this one:

    “Although I am not the biggest fan of row seating I don’t think it is that bad but rather keeping your seating plan static for long stretches of time is.”

    The truth is that I’m not a big fan of changing seating arrangements unless they need to be changed. I find that students work with numerous other students in many different ways on any given day, and that really their desk is just a place to hold their belongings, but not necessarily to sit. I have also worked with a number of students with autism over the years, and these students often find changes in classroom design to be difficult. To be cognisant of their needs, I only make changes when necessary.

    Just like you, I try to involve students in the process, as it’s their classroom as well. Thank you for getting me to further reflect on seating arrangements!

    Aviva
    http://www.weinspirefutures.com

Leave a Reply

