A Culture of Share

Yesterdays Blackboard Collaborate #etmooc session “Sharing is Accountability” was one of the most interesting sessions thus far in the #etmooc course and has really gotten me thinking. I also read Max’s post “What I’ve learnt so far: the meaning of ‘sharing’ ‘which got the cogs turning even more.

  origin_4464982807photo credit: denise carbonell via photopin cc

It would seem that we have entered the age of a culture of share. Go on almost any website and you will find a button that says ‘share this”. The culture of share is ever present among educators on Twitter and educational blogs. There is also a healthy culture of dialogue, critiquing and collaboration in these communities. I see my students taking this culture of share one step further and entering the stage of share and remix. The remix often helps them find their voices when they are struggling to find it on their own. (Perhaps a blogpost for another time…?)

Being a new teacher I have am blessed to have found the culture of share’that is out there on Twitter, Pinterest and even amoung  colleagues in my building. My own fondness for sharing didn’t start until the first few months of pursuit of my education degree after I realized that this was a profession where living in ones own bubble can lead to a feeling of isolation and disillusion quickly. At fist I started small, sharing and working with people in my cohort and moved into the world of Twitter where sharing is the norm for many educators using the service. Being exposed to so many people so willing to share helped me realize sharing is something I value as a professional. I do not share because I expect anything in return but rather I share because it brings me joy and helps me become a better teacher.  Sharing ideas with colleagues in my building has helped me refine them and make them better to serve my students.

Some people are overwhelmed by the amount of information and resources out there and sometimes come off as not wanting to share and participate. Some simply aren’t open to sharing.  (When people say they don’t share because they don’t get anything in return when they share always reminds me of the principle of reciprocity from my first year social psych course. Oh the things that stick!)

Anyone who has tried to explain the awesomeness of Twitter for PD or emailed a few links gleaned from your Twitter stream knows the looks you get that can range from “this is cool” to “this is too much information to for me to handle” in no time at all. After experiencing the dazed looks a few too many times I have learned to tone down my ‘sharing’ and to keep it to my Tweets, Pinterest and my blogposts. That way people an choose to filter and choose what they would like to look at and use. When people ask where an idea or resource that I found on Twitter…. all bets are off and I go into share mode.

How do you share with your colleagues and peers? Are you scared to share?

 

medium_5961900183

Live, Learn, Lead photo credit: ljperales via photopin cc

14 thoughts on “A Culture of Share

  1. Yes, “over sharing” is something I’m just getting into balance. Fbook, Twitter, blogging, Pinterest, emailing, … Just because I’m excited doesn’t mean everyone else is. Glad for your post/sharing!

  2. You speak the truth when you say that living in a bubble can lead to isolation and disillusionment. Bubble life also gives one a distorted sense of purpose. I’m more and more interested in getting out of the classroom and into the halls and shared spaces to work. The interaction and input from others when someone stops to see what’s going on is proving to be helpful as well as interesting.

  3. Pingback: Etmooc Comment Scraper Output (continued) « Connection not Content

  4. Hi Mary, these thoughts are very similar to some of the thoughts I had myself after the session “sharing is accountability”. I completely empathize with the “knowing looks” from colleagues who think I’m a bit mad or sad to spend my own time on CPD. Thanks for echoing my thoughts

    http://maireadcan.wordpress.com/

  5. I’ve not reviewed the meeting yet but your post encourages me to dig into the archive.
    Getting the balance is a struggle. You can share to much, without enough detail, too much detail, to the wrong person and at the wrong time.
    I think the remixing that you point out is the key. With technology I’ve had most fun when remixing or riffing on some else’s ideas. Taking a bit of information and adding a bit of personal experience to add value. Perhaps just putting the ‘share’ in a list or next to something that chimes is enough.

  6. Hi John,

    Balance is definitely key and we all need to learn what our balance is and comfort level is with sharing.

    I have also found that remixing and building off others ideas is a good way to push my own thinking and understanding.

  7. Hi Melanie,

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I think as a new teacher one of the big things I have needed to learn is to not be afraid to stop into others classrooms and ask questions. It is that curiousity and the resulting conversations that help to build a community of colleagues in a school building.

  8. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on sharing. Being new to connectivist learning (and education in general), I especially appreciated how you wrote about your journey … how you started small. That is where I am … starting small, but I am participating in a HUGE MOOC! Your sharing encouraged me to start small while in this vastness of a MOOC.

  9. Hi Alison,

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I am too am starting with the MOOC. I didn’t sign up with a clear goal in mind but rather to see where the course would take me and to see what I could learn from others. I am really enjoying reading everyones blogposts and participating in the chats and blackboard collab. sessions.

  10. On a nightly basis, I can check out what other best teaching practices professionals from all over the world have been using. I have been sharing with others my own best practices. Twitter and the Educator’s PLN have helped me grow as a teacher and as a learner. I have also started sharing these great resources with my colleagues. As someone who constantly wants to improve their teaching, why would you not want to be a connected educator?

  11. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

