A trip to the bookstore: 3 books to help teach citizenship skills.

I thought I’d share three books that I picked up from a local bookstore yesterday.  The first two are books that I would use with almost any age group (K – 4) to help teach those ever important citizenship skills. The third is more inspirational than about citizenship but it fits well with the theme of never giving up and dreaming big, which we all need if we want to change the world.

 “I Have the Right to Be a Child” By Aurelia Fronty

I could not pass up the opportunity to buy this book! In the beautifully illustrated pages a young child tells of the universal human rights all children have regardless of race, age, gender or socio-economic status. The words are simple but provide a powerful introduction to any discussion to human rights and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child.

“I  have the right to play, to create, to imagine, to make faces and to leap around…. and also to have friends because dancing alone isn’t very much fun.”

10 things I can do to help my world by Melanie Walsh

The second book that I purchased fits in nicely with my love for teaching children to respect the earth. With great illustrations and pop up pages the book shares 10 simple things everyone can do to help the world!


An Awesome Book by Dallas Clayton

‘An Awesome Book!’ is one of my favourite FREE books online so I just had to support the author and buy a print copy. What I love about this book is the message to not be afraid to dream big and follow your dreams! I have used this book as an intro for a poetry lesson to get the fear of ‘being wrong’ out of students minds! This is a fabulous addition to any classroom library! Check out his site at: http://veryawesomeworld.com/

“To dream a dream as big as big could ever dream to be!”

2 thoughts on “A trip to the bookstore: 3 books to help teach citizenship skills.

  1. These look like great books Mary. Thanks for sharing them. I may just pick up copies for next year.

Leave a Reply

