Teaching for Sustainability

As I have started my practicum block I have already started to miss teaching science. Science is like a comfy go to subject for me. I am comfortable with the concepts covered and the questions raised in scientific  explorations. I see science and scientific questions everywhere! (Thank goodness for the internet for helping answer all my questions!)

I found that when I started thinking of what I wanted to teach in my social studies unit for practicum block, I instantly thought about teaching around topics of sustainability. It is something that I truly do feel children should be taught about and become involved in at an early age. Kids love nothing more than having an impact that matters and doing their part.  And  really what is better than helping save the world one small step at a a time?

Along with a classmate of mine I recently signed up for a course entitled : Sustainability Education Concepts and Teaching Methods. It is a free (!) 15 hour course offered by the Green Education Foundation Institute. We are taking part in their pilot project run of the course. Each unit requires you to a bit of reading, watch a few videos and then reflect and answer questions. I have been terribly busy, but so far so good! If you are interested in teaching for sustainability you should definitely consider taking the course. According to their FAQ the closing date for registrations is 15 December 2011. If you do not have time check out their resource site for some great resources!

Website: http://www.gefinstitute.org

Resource Site: http://www.greeneducationfoundation.org/index.php?option=com_sobi2&Itemid=567

Green Leaf of a Bio Plant in Nature

By epSos.de

One thought on “Teaching for Sustainability

  1. Hi Mary,
    I am really enjoying your blog. What I am really impressed with is that you constantly ask questions and reflect on your practice. The best teachers I know are reflective thinkers.
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

